How do I decide what to blog about?

Kate asked, how do I decide what to blog about? Hmm. Perhaps the question should be how do I decide what not to blog about!

Ok. Being serious now. This is definitely what I would call a professional blog, so you won’t find much about my personal life (if anything) here. So, how do I decide what to blog about – well really its a balance between:

  • Ideas or reactions to other feeds I’ve reading;
  • Things I’ve seen and want to bookmark for future reference (this in itself is a great reason to blog – I’m always searching my own blog for stuff I know I’ve recorded here;
  • Events I’m attending (or even hosting);
  • Updates and links to things I’ve published else where; and
  • Occasionally other ideas I might have.

I would love to make my blog all about the last point, but to be honest that’s not a real proposition so I try to maintain a healthy balance between all of the above.

The harder question to answer is what do I blog about. The specific focus has changed over time, generally its about things related to the information workplace – everything from social media to the impact of physical workspace design. Some people have described this as a Knowledge Management blog, while others think I’m a technologist. But I don’t think it really matters.

Of course when I blog is easy – these days its quite often while I’m sitting on the train going to or back from Sydney. Otherwise I like blogging early on a Saturday or Sunday morning, ideally while drinking a coffee before everyone else wakes up!

That’s enough about me… how do these guys decide how/what/when to blog?

Let’s see who is listening 😉

(BTW these are all blogs I’ve been reading recently and have starred a few times in Google Reader)

Technorati Tags: ,
4 thoughts on “How do I decide what to blog about?

  1. James, thanks for the poke. I have no problem deciding what to blog about … just a lack a time to actually put fingers to keyboard. I keep a long list of things to explore and write on, as those ideas raise their heads, and it’s getting depressingly long!

  2. Hey James! Clearly I’m not paying as close attention as I should be… I just noticed the ping in WordPress. I’ll make sure to write about what we write about soon!

Comments are closed.