Is Blogging Evolving Into Life Streams? « Web Strategy by Jeremiah Owyang | Social Media, Web Marketing

Check out this website I found at web-strategist.com

I’ve noticed a gradual change in what we know as blogs when Scoble and Shel wrote the book on Naked Conversations. Both of them are now focused on micromedia: Shel has an upcoming book on Twitterville, and Scoble spends more time promoting Friendfeed than his own blog. Secondly, I just learned that Edelman’s top blogger Steve Rubel has retired his traditional blog, and it’s now a life stream, which aggregates content from any source. Of course, I don’t need to mention that many of the top 100 blogs all look like mainstream media, with a team of writers, photographers, and editors. It seems as if blogging is becoming old hat, or at least evolving into something smaller, faster, and more portable. I’m with Louis Gray, (who has finally blogged his stance –great graphics) I’m not going to give up my blog, instead, I think of it as the hub of content, and the rest of the information I aggregate (notice the Twitter bar up top and the Friendfeed integration below). To me, joining the conversation is certainly important, but it doesn’t mean the hub (or corporate website) goes away.

I didn’t know I was life streaming here 😉 I’m actually mostly with Jeremiah on this one, although I’m using this *blog* slightly differently. I like the way its pushes content out from the hub, rather than bringing it in. I also like its simplicity – hopefully, you’ll see more words from me here rather than less. Certainly, its a place for anything that can’t be squeezed into 140 characters or less. And yes, I still think comments are essential for a good blog.

One thought on “Is Blogging Evolving Into Life Streams? « Web Strategy by Jeremiah Owyang | Social Media, Web Marketing

  1. I’ve seen this shift too, and I understand the lifestream thing and have considered it as an alternate to my blog. But I already spend enough time gardening this stuff.For me, my blog is about a form of writing that is far longer than a lifestreaming tool can manage.

Comments are closed.