Comment on MS Australia’s Government Affairs Blog: Public Sector Information – greater access involves greater responsibility

Picture this, it’s an emergency situation say a bushfire, and a life and death decision is made based on PSI through an online mapping device. Who is responsible?, if in the unfortunate circumstance, the information is based on untimely or inaccurate information.

I gave up trying to recover my password so I could comment directly…

The flip side of this coin is imagine an emergency situation where a life and death decision is made based on incomplete, but qualified, information – a failure to warn has left organisations at fault (morally and legally) too.

However, not all information is critical, just very practical – for example, does the toilet database need to be locked down? Knowing my local area, I wouldn’t use some of the toilets it recommends and I know some of the information is inaccurate!

