Videos I used in my A-Z guide to implementing a social media marketing strategy masterclass

On Friday I ran a full day masterclass in Canberra, The public sector’s A-Z guide to implementing a social media marketing strategy.

The Government 2.0 Taskforce’s Online Engagement Guidelines (“Project 8”) provided the main structure for the day, but we also spent some time exploring trends and issues. I also wanted to challenge the idea that social media is just another promotional channel for government to use.

To help stimulate discussion I played a number of videos through out the day, so I thought I would share these here:

Us Now trailer
Why? To position the importance of the potential for participation through social media.

Don’t be afraid of bronze!
Why? Well, if you replace ‘bronze’ with ‘social media’ you get the idea.

Fork handles
Why? To explain the role of the Online Engagement Guidelines in helping people in government share knowledge and experiences with social media, by using a common framework for online engagement.

Social Media in Plain English
Why? We need to understand the benefits of social media in a broad context, not just from a public sector or non-profit perspective.

Digital Nation Trailer
Why? To look at the impact of digital technology on society and the changes it is bringing, whether we agree with them or not.

The Social Media Guru
Why? Because the technology isn’t really the hard part. And beware of social media gurus.

Video: One & Other – Final Highlights
Why? When I think of successful engagement through social media, the One & Other project sets the benchmark.

Note: The last couple of videos might not be safe for work, if you play them out of context!
One thought on “Videos I used in my A-Z guide to implementing a social media marketing strategy masterclass

Comments are closed.