Reframe your intranet: Focus on context

Reading this CMSWire article this morning, Reimagining the Intranet: Content in Context, I’m reminded of a presentation I made in 2007 on integrating Enterprise 2.0 into your corporate intranet. One of the slides I used was based on some academic research, published in 2001 that looked at the relationship between information and knowledge:

Informationawarenesscommunicationcollaboration

 I borrowed this concept from the paper, that discussed the idea of:

  • Information spaces;
  • Communications space;
  • Awareness space; and
  • Collaboration spaces.

For far too long traditional intranets have focused on communication and to an extent information. But I wouldn’t say content in context. I’d say its all about context – that part in the diagram where all four spaces meet.

And considering the impact that mobile is having on the enterprise, context is going to be more important than ever.

One thought on “Reframe your intranet: Focus on context

Comments are closed.